> Home > Vision award

Vision Award

2019 António Champalimaud Vision Award Winners

The António Champalimaud Vision Award has the support of Vision 2020 – The Right To Sight, a global initiative for the prevention of blindness launched in association with the World Health Organisation and the International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness.

The award is given alternately between contributions to overall vision research (odd numbered years) and contributions to the alleviation of visual problems, primarily in developing countries (even numbered years). The recipients of the award are productive laboratories/organisations or collaborative efforts and this may involve groups from more than one institution or discipline. The Award does not focus only on the largest global organisations but on organisations of any size that can demonstrate high impact achievements. These could be on a local, national, regional or international level.

The jury of the award consists of a distinguished panel of leading international scientists and of exceptional public figures involved in meeting the needs of the developing world.

The award may be used in any way that furthers the outstanding contribution of the recipients.

Previous Laureates:

2019: Instituto da Visão - IPEPO, à Fundação Altino Ventura e ao Serviço de Oftalmologia da UNICAMP

2018: Jean Bennett, Albert Maguire, Robin Ali, James Bainbridge, Samuel Jacobson, William W. Hauswirth and Michael Redmond

2017: Sightsavers and CBM (Christoffel-Blindenmission)

2016: Christine Holt, Carol Mason, John Flanagan and Carla Shatz

2015: Kilimanjaro Project

2014:  Napoleone Ferrara, Joan W. Miller, Evangelos S. Gragoudas, Patricia A. D’Amore, Anthony P. Adamis, George L. King and Lloyd Paul Aiello

2013: Nepal Netra Jyoty Sangh (NNJS), Eastern Regional Eye Care Programme, Lumbini Eye Institute and Tilganga Institute of Ophthalmology

2012: David Williams, James Fujimoto, David Huang, Carmen Puliafito, Joel Schuman & Eric Swanson

2011: African Programme for Onchocerciasis Control

2010: J. Anthony Movshon and William Newsome

2009: Helen Keller International

2008: Jeremy Nathans and King-Wai Yau

2007: Aravind Eye Care System